Disconnected

Studio View

I felt really disconnected and out of it when I went to the studio yesterday.  It’s been a few days since I’ve been to the studio.  On top of that, I haven’t worked on these figure drawings in over a week because I was busy working on my first mezzotint plate. It was one of those studio sessions where I really had to force myself to get to work.

I’m questioning whether I can sustain working on the figure drawings and the mezzotints at the same time for this reason.  Both bodies of work are stylistically and technically so different from each other, and I’m not sure that I like the idea of feeling so mentally fragmented between the two series. For now, I’m going to put the mezzotints aside, so I can ponder whether or not to go ahead with them. I’m meeting with one of my colleagues this week, so I’m hoping to get some feedback about the mezzotints then.

One thought on “Disconnected

  1. This is a work strategy I shared with my university students. When I am working in my studio and feel fractured, incompetent, or doubtful – I comfort myself by assurances that I am in unknown growth territory. Alternately, when I feel confident, competent, and whole – I acknowledge to myself that I am in safe territory doing what I know. We need time in both zones, some safety, some risk. Naming the place you are at this moment can help.

Leave a Reply

