Cohesion

Studio View

After a lot of mulling, I’ve decided that I indeed want to go forward with the series of mezzotints. However, I need to somehow secure funding, so it could be a while before I launch this project.  I’m fine with waiting, these figure drawings are more than enough to keep me busy for the time being!

In last night’s studio session, I found myself really eager to address the entire composition all at once.  I had thought previously that I would draw and finish one figure at a time, and wait for it to dry before starting on another figure.  I discovered yesterday that that approach really wasn’t going to work, it felt too fragmented and I felt like I had no sense of the whole piece.  So instead, I leaped around the composition, addressing all of the figures all at once.  I think this approach will make the composition much more fluid and cohesive.

 

Leave a Reply

