Settling in

IMG_4530

After a lot of back and forth, I’ve decided to move ahead with this idea.  Throughout all of the ideas I’ve run through, this is the idea that keeps coming back. I’ll do a few test pieces on the 7′ x 4′ sheets of Dura-lar, and make a final decision once I see how those turn out on the large scale.

I’ve been pasting my smiling face on top of my reference photos of nude figures over the past few days and it’s created some rather startling images. (I can’t post those images out of respect for my model, so above is a pencil sketch I did of a composite figure) The smiling faces are very unsettling when they are on the anguished figures. I find them creepier than a tormented figure with an upset facial expression, which is what you expect to see.

One thought on “Settling in

Leave a Reply

