Milestone

Studio View

I hit a milestone this week: I now have 14 mezzotints complete which means I now have enough prints for my 2 November solo exhibitions.  Out of these 14 mezzotints, there are three that I would like to redo.  However, at this point getting to the redos is not hugely important.  The most important thing is that I know I can pull off the exhibitions with the 14 mezzotints that I currently have.

All I have left now is to finish 3 large scale drawings, all of which have already been sketched out in vine charcoal. I’m feeling less overwhelmed by the amount of work that has to be done by November. I have to admit though that I’m not really in the right mindset to work on the drawings. The last time I touched the drawings was way back in June, and since then I’ve been deeply immersed in the mezzotints.  Consequently, I’m not looking forward to being forced to change gears. If it weren’t for the November exhibitions I would just keep plowing through the mezzotints and do the drawings later.  I know it’s going to take at least a few transitional sessions before I’m able to establish a good work flow for these drawings. 

Leave a Reply

