“Ask the Art Prof” on Facebook Live on Thursday, April 7 at 9:30pm EST

clara3

Many of you have probably noticed that my “Ask the Art Prof” advice column for visual artists on the Huffington Post has been on hiatus since last August.   Last September, an enormous project kicked into high gear that has been consuming all of my time since then.

A few weeks back, I actually had some spare time for a change, and I started writing a new column.  I have to admit that I felt bored.  The writing process felt tedious, slow, and limited. This had never happened before when I was writing a column.  Previously, the words always seemed to spill effortlessly on the page, and I really enjoyed the process of gradually organizing and editing my thoughts into a coherent form.  I didn’t want to, but I abandoned the new column after about an hour of frustration.

I started wondering whether my advice column needed a change, perhaps a new format or direction. After all, I’ve been writing “Ask the Art Prof” for 3 years now, and I’ve written over 120 columns at this point. So I think it was synchronicity that I started reading about Facebook Live in the news at the same time that I was re-evaluating the format of my advice column. On top of that, I noticed in my Twitter feed that New York Times Op-Ed Columnist Nicholas Kristof has started doing Facebook Live posts recently on his Facebook page. Just thinking about all the possibilities with this new format got me excited.

I’d like to invite you to join me for “Ask the Art Prof” on Facebook Live on my Facebook page on Thursday, April 7 at 9:30pm EST (Eastern Standard Time) Like my Facebook page and you’ll receive a notification when my live video begins.

This live video will be similar to my advice column, in that you’ll get to ask me anything you want that’s related to being a visual artist: the creative process, art school, career advice, art techniques, teaching art, how to be a working artist today, and much more.

Show up for the live video and ask me questions by commenting on the post while I’m live, and I’ll answer right then and there.

See you then!

Final Crit

ART PROF is a free, online educational platform for visual arts for people of all ages to learn visual arts in a vibrant art community. Imagine all of the resources here on our blog, except exponentially bigger, in greater quantity, and in more detail. Our Kickstarter campaign hit its $30k goal on July 19!  Get info on our future launch by subscribing to our email list.

FB   Youtube    tumblr    Pinterest    LinkedIn    Instagram    Twitter    snap_chat   email

 

Leave a Reply

