Ask the Art Prof Live #3: Personal Themes, Never Too Late to Start Drawing


00:00

Is it a bad idea to show deeply personal themes in your artwork?
Mentioned: Nan Goldin, Edgar Degas

Nan Goldin     Degas Dancer Adjusting laces


Student drawing based on flashbacks of his mother’s death:

MO8


Student drawing based on Starbucks:

Starbucks


05:36
Artists have to be able to speak about their artwork.

Student drawing about her personal conflict about her religion:

SB8


12:52
Am I too old to start learning drawing?

Edgar Degas’ figure sculptures:

Degas Figure Sculpture

Henri Matisse’s cut out collages:

Matisse Collage


17:18
Experience can be a crutch for some students.


ART PROF is a free, online educational platform for visual arts for people of all ages to learn visual arts in a vibrant art community. Imagine all of the resources here on our blog, except exponentially bigger, in greater quantity, and in more detail. Our Kickstarter campaign hit its $30k goal on July 19!  Get info on our future launch by subscribing to our email list.

FB   Youtube    tumblr    Pinterest    LinkedIn    Instagram    Twitter    snap_chat   email


Ask the Art Prof Live is a weekly live video broadcast on my Facebook page where I provide professional advice for art students and professional artists. Ask the Art Prof began as a written column in 2013 and was featured in the Huffington Post from 2013-2015.  See the full archive of columns here. Ask me your questions by commenting on the live video post as the video streams, and I’ll answer right away. I’ll discuss being an artist today, art technique & materials, work strategies for artists, career advice, teaching art, and more. Like my Facebook page and you’ll receive a notification when each live video begins.


Related Live Videos
#8: Should I do the Starving Artist Phase in New York City?
#7: How do I Improve My Art?  How do I Find My Artistic Style?
#6: Teaching High School Art, Teaching Color
#5:  Starting Art School, Avoiding Cliches
#4:  Oversaturation, Brainstorming, Beginning a Series
#2:  Aches While Drawing, Professional Artwork vs. Student Artwork
#1:  Graduate MFA Programs

2 thoughts on “Ask the Art Prof Live #3: Personal Themes, Never Too Late to Start Drawing

  1. Thank you for your encouraging words especially about drawing at any age. I’m retired and just beginning to learn. The most important factor for me is not necessarily the finished product but the fun I have in the process. Enjoyed this video!

    • Glad to hear the video was helpful, I really believe that any time spent drawing is valuable, regardless of the outcome! I had a professor in college who used to say “If you’re not having fun, you’re doing something wrong.” So true!

Leave a Reply

