Wading in a “Substance”

I experimented today with another different way of articulating the water. The look of the water was more graphic to begin with, and relied less on subtleties in the darks. I think there are definitely moments where the surface goes back and forth between being liquid and solid, which brings up the idea that the substance the figures are wading in as undefined. I like the idea of a “substance” rather than being so clearly defined as only being water.

The figure in this study was challenging; the point of view I chose was awkward to begin with, especially with the head peeking out behind the bent arm. I’ve been working to keep the figures more implied and suggested, rather than concretely articulated.  In this case I think the articulation is somewhat overworked.

Wander XIII

Leave a comment