Strategies

As I work on these monotypes, I’m trying to slightly change my strategy for each piece to get me closer to where I would like to eventually be. So far my strategy for these pieces is to use my reference photographs to articulate the figure, and then to attack that image with violent marks which cut up the image. Today I played around with giving the drawing another pass after the “attack” has been completed. This allowed me to go in and articulate areas that I lost in the process and bring out more details in the image. It’s always a tough balance to figure out what you want to clarify and what to leave ambiguous, it’s a balance that I think I’m constantly struggling in with all of my work.

Monotype

24″ x 18″, monotype

Leave a Reply

