My next book

I’ve been trying to brainstorm ideas for my next book. I’m fairly certain it will be a very large instructional book, and that I want to get my students heavily involved in the process of writing the book.  I want all of the imagery to be student work from my classes. Very few art books out there show college level student work, so I’m hoping that’s one way to distinguish the book from other instructional books.  I also want the book to have more quotes from students, and have personal stories from my experiences in the classroom. Basically, an instructional book that has a personal touch to it.

What do you think?  What kind of content would you like to see in my next book?

LI10

A student drawing from my freshman drawing class at RISD

4 thoughts on “My next book

  1. I think including personal advice and stories is a good option! for example ways to stay interested/motivated in a theme. I think an important element in the creative process is not just knowing how to use different techniques, but the personal decisions or worries when it comes to doing something with the knowledge.

  2. I very much like the idea of putting students’ work in your book. I also think having your work in the book is very important. Professional artists struggle with each painting. There are so many ways to approach the many problems and challenges, I think it is important to express that and include your personal decisions and their rationale within your own realm of artistic experience. I think identifying each student work will help immensely in marketing of the book now and in the future.

    I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for doing this blog. I love it and find it fascinating.

    Linda

Leave a Reply

