Installation day

Sarah Doyle Gallery

I spent the morning installing my solo exhibition at the Sarah Doyle Gallery at Brown University. Installing shows is a huge amount of work, everything has to be perfectly measured.  Nothing can be rushed, and you have to be extremely thorough and detail oriented.   Nowadays, I am generally very good at anticipating what needs to be done.  When I was the gallery director at the Jewett Gallery, I oversaw the installation of many exhibitions over four years.  Since that experience, I am able to deal with all sorts of different installations. 

I wasn’t sure exactly what was going to fit into the gallery space, but I ended up installing all 21 pieces. I had 7 sculptures, 7 photographs, and 7 mezzotints. In the gallery, the pieces are presented as suites of 3 works, one image is produced in those three media. 

The opening reception is this Thursday, Sept. 11 from 6:30-8pm.  You can RSVP on Facebook here

Sarah Doyle Gallery

Leave a Reply

